Skip to main content
International Dispute Resolution Centre


INTRODUCTION
Hong Kong is a prime venue for international legal and dispute resolution services through arbitration and mediation:
  • Since 2015, Hong Kong has been among the top five preferred seats for arbitration globally according to the International Arbitration Surveys conducted by Queen Mary University of London
  • With an arbitration-friendly approach well-documented in court judgments, Hong Kong’s judiciary is particularly successful in the realm of international dispute resolution. When two parties have a dispute with a valid arbitration agreement, the court will order that the court proceedings be stayed in favour of arbitration. The court will also uphold the general flexibility and integrity of the arbitral process
  • Hong Kong arbitral awards are enforceable in over 150 Contracting States to the New York Convention. This is complemented by respective arrangements for reciprocal enforcement with Mainland China and Macao SAR
  • The Hong Kong International Arbitration Centre (HKIAC) is a home-grown arbitral institution. HKIAC ranked first for location, perceived value for money, helpfulness of staff and IT services by the Global Arbitration Review Hearing Centres Surveys 2016, 2017 and 2018
  • A number of well-respected international institutions have chosen to make Hong Kong their first global location outside their home jurisdictions. This melding of local and international arbitral institutions has fostered Hong Kong’s development as the leading international legal and dispute resolution services hub in the Asia-Pacific region and beyond


SECTOR-SPECIFIC ARBITRATION


  • As a global financial and business hub, Hong Kong has a wealth of legal and professional expertise in different areas including commerce and finance, maritime, infrastructure and construction, intellectual property, information technology and international investment law
  • Each industry carries a unique set of circumstances and requirements when it comes to arbitration or other dispute resolution processes. Hong Kong has a deep pool of legal professionals with the know-how to address them


USER-FRIENDLY ARBITRATION LAW


  • Hong Kong adopted the United Nations Commission on International Trade Law (UNCITRAL) Model Law on International Commercial Arbitration for its arbitration legislation in 2011
  • This user-friendly framework unified the legislative regimes for domestic and international arbitrations into a self-contained set of provisions. It guarantees clear, certain and accessible arbitration framework which serves to attract more international arbitration to Hong Kong


THIRD PARTY
FUNDING
  • A proven efficient way to allocate and manage financial resources of arbitration users
  • The Arbitration and Mediation Legislation (Third Party Funding) (Amendment) Ordinance 2017 clarifies that third-party funding for arbitration and mediation is not prohibited by the common law doctrines of maintenance and champerty and provides for related safeguards
  • A Code of Practice for Third Party Funding of Arbitration set out the practices and standards with which third party funders are ordinarily expected to comply in carrying out activities in connection with third party funding of arbitration


INTELLECTUAL
PROPERTY RIGHTS
  • Hong Kong is developing as a leading global intellectual property trading centre
  • Arbitration and mediation are effective means to handle intellectual property disputes as they often involve parties from different jurisdictions
  • Intellectual Property Rights (IPRs) are arbitrable under the Arbitration (Amendment) Ordinance 2017. It would not be contrary to public policy to enforce an award solely because the award involves an intellectual property right dispute


WIDER USE OF
MEDIATION

  • Hong Kong Mediation Ordinance encourages the wider use and development of mediation as an effective means of dispute resolution
  • Hong Kong is the first jurisdiction in Asia to have apology legislation which promote and encourage the making of apologies between parties with a view to preventing the escalation of disputes and facilitating their amicable resolution
  • CEPA Mediation Mechanism was established for the settlement of investment disputes arising from an alleged breach of the substantive obligations of the agreement by one side causing loss to an investor of the other side
  • With the CEPA Mediation Mechanism in place, Department of Justice (DoJ) of the HKSAR Government is developing a bespoke training programme for investment mediators with the objective of building up a team of investment mediators in Asia, and to develop Hong Kong as a training and capacity building centre


IDAR OFFICE


  • To better cope with the challenges and harness the additional opportunities offered by the Belt and Road Initiative and the Greater Bay Area Plan, the “Inclusive Dispute Avoidance and Resolution Office” (IDAR Office) has been established within the DoJ to facilitate access to justice and raise the international profile of Hong Kong in deal making and dispute resolution through capacity building, concluding co-operation or partnership arrangements with other jurisdictions and international organisations, organising and supporting a number of important international events in Hong Kong and promotional activities overseas.


TRAINING AND
CAPACITY BUILDING
  • DoJ has been actively involved in training and capacity-building programmes relating to international law, judicial skills and dispute resolution for judges and government officials in Asia and around the world
  • Such programmes foster collaborative relationships between international organisations, the legal profession, experts, and other stakeholders in Hong Kong and other countries and regions
  • The goal is to strengthen Hong Kong’s status as a regional and international centre for legal and dispute resolution services


LAWTECH


  • DoJ is supporting the private sector’s initiative of developing an online deal-making and dispute resolution platform to provide cost-effective, secure and efficient dispute resolution and smart contract services to parties from anywhere in the world
  • Reducing costs and dealing with the linguistic and geographical barriers that parties may face when resolving their dispute through the use of negotiation, mediation and arbitration
  • Advanced technology (e.g. Blockchain, real-time translation etc.) is adopted to provide a deal-making platform for parties located in different parts of the world
  • A set of e-mediation and e-arbitration rules will be available for the platform
  • DoJ is also taking the lead in online dispute resolution work under the APEC Economic Committee’s Friends of the Chair on Strengthening Economic and Legal Infrastructure (SELI) working group with micro, small and medium-sized enterprises as major beneficiaries



Home

跳到主要內容
國際爭議解決服務中心


簡介
在國際法律及以仲裁與調解方式解決爭議的服務方面,香港是理想的地點:
  • 根據倫敦大學瑪麗皇后學院所進行的國際仲裁調查,自2015年以來,香港一直名列全球五大首選仲裁地點
  • 香港的法庭便利仲裁程序,這一點於法庭判決中有充分記錄,因此香港的司法機構在解決國際爭議方面已相當成功。當雙方在有效的仲裁協議下發生爭議時,法庭會命令將訴訟程序擱置,先用仲裁解決。法庭亦會維護仲裁程序的一般靈活性及完整性
  • 香港的仲裁裁決可在《紐約公約》的150多個締約國強制執行。此外,還有與中國大陸及澳門特別行政區簽訂的各項相互執行仲裁裁決的安排
  • 香港國際仲裁中心是本地設立的仲裁機構。根據《環球仲裁評論》(Global Arbitration Review)在2016、2017及2018年的庭審中心調查,香港國際仲裁中心在地理位置、物符其值、員工服務水平及資訊科技服務的範疇均排名第一
  • 不少備受尊崇的國際機構以香港作為在其本國司法管轄區以外設立全球辦事處的首選。香港的本地與國際仲裁機構關係密切,促進了香港發展成為亞太地區及其他地區領先的國際法律及爭議解決服務中心

不同行業的仲裁服務


  • 香港作為全球金融及商業要衝,在商業與金融、海運、基礎設施與建築、知識產權、資訊科技、國際投資法等不同領域擁有豐富的法律及專業知識
  • 在仲裁或其他爭議解決程序方面,每個行業都有其獨特的條件及要求。香港憑藉眾多法律專業人士,擁有解決這些問題的專業知識


方便和易於應用的仲裁法


  • 2011年,香港採納了聯合國國際貿易法委員會(UNCITRAL)的《國際商事仲裁示範法》作為仲裁立法的藍本
  • 這個方便和易於應用的框架將本地與國際仲裁的立法制度統一為一套自成一體的條款。它保證了仲裁框架清晰、明確並可供查閱,有助於吸引更多國際仲裁案件來香港

第三方資助
  • 一項公認為有效的仲裁財務資源分配及管理方法
  • 《2017年仲裁及調解法例(第三者資助)(修訂)條例》釐清第三者在香港資助仲裁不受助訟及包攬訴訟的普通法原則所禁止,並規定了相關的保障措施
  • 《第三者資助仲裁實務守則》訂立通常預期出資第三者在進行與第三者資助仲裁相關的活動時須遵從的常規及標準

知識產權
  • 香港正發展成為全球領先的知識產權交易中心
  • 由於知識產權爭議通常涉及來自不同司法管轄區的當事人,因此仲裁及調解是處理這類爭議的有效方法
  • 知識產權爭議可藉仲裁解決,根據2017年的《仲裁(修訂)條例》強制執行任何裁決,不會僅因該裁決關乎知識產權的爭議而違反公共政策

調解的更廣泛用途

  • 香港的《調解條例》鼓勵更廣泛地使用調解,以及發展調解作為解決爭議的有效方法
  • 香港是亞洲第一個擁有道歉法例的司法管轄區,該法例旨在促進並鼓勵各方之間道歉,以防止爭議升級,以及促進各方友好調解爭議
  • 根據《內地與香港關於建立更緊密經貿關係的安排》(CEPA)框架下的《投資協議》建立的投資爭端調解機制,處理投資者指稱另一方政府違反協議實質性義務而引致其投資受損的爭端
  • 隨着CEPA投資爭端調解機制的設立,律政司正在為投資調解員制定一項培訓計劃,目標是為亞洲區建立投資調解員團隊,並把香港發展為國際投資法及國際投資爭議解決技巧的培訓基地及能力提升中心

普惠避免及解決爭議辦公室


  • 為了迎接「一帶一路」倡議及粵港澳大灣區建設規劃所帶來的機遇和挑戰,律政司成立了「普惠避免及解決爭議辦公室」,以便與其他司法管轄區及國際組織達成合作或伙伴關係安排;透過海外的培訓及推廣活動,提升香港在達成協議及解決爭議方面的國際形象

培訓及能力提升
  • 律政司積極舉辦和參與為亞洲及世界各地的法官及政府官員舉辦的國際法、司法技能、爭議解決相關培訓及能力提升計劃
  • 這些計劃促進了香港與其他國家及地區的國際組織、法律專業人士、專家和其他利益相關者之間的合作關係
  • 律政司希望藉此加強香港作為亞太區以至國際法律及爭議解決服務中心的地位

法律科技


  • 律政司支持私營機構開發網上交易及爭議解決平台的倡議,冀為全球提供具成本效益、安全而有效率的爭議解決及智能合約服務
  • 可以為透過談判、調解及仲裁解決爭議的當事人降低成本,並處理他們面對的語言和地理阻隔
  • 採用先進技術(例如區塊鏈、即時翻譯等)為身處世界不同地方的當事人提供平台以達成協議
  • 該平台亦將有一套電子調解及電子仲裁規則
  • 律政司亦正在亞太經合組織經濟委員會轄下加強經濟和法律基建主席之友工作組(APEC Economic Committee’s Friends of the Chair on Strengthening Economic and Legal Infrastructure)中就線上爭議解決平台擔當領導位置,務求讓中小微企受惠



主頁