Skip to main content
Legal Sector


INTRODUCTION

Hong Kong’s robust legal services sector includes more than 10,000 practising solicitors and about 1,500 practising barristers, of which 106 are Senior Counsel, as well as around 1,600 registered foreign lawyers from 32 jurisdictions. Many major international law firms have offices in Hong Kong.

As a global trade, finance and business hub, Hong Kong has a wealth of legal expertise in areas such as banking and finance, shipping, maritime, construction, intellectual property, and information technology.

International legal professionals bring with them additional experience in the areas of civil and commercial law, complementing the existing talent pool of local legal professionals with expertise in raising capital, drafting and negotiating contracts, and advising on intellectual property rights protection in Hong Kong.

They also bring international perspective and experience in handling international transactions so that commercial disputes can be dealt with fairly and effectively.

The Hong Kong Bar Association and the Law Society of Hong Kong are the two major legal representative bodies of the legal profession in Hong Kong.



MARKET ACCESS
TO THE MAINLAND


Close and long-standing links between the legal sectors of Hong Kong and the Mainland have helped develop business opportunities since the opening up and reform of China’s markets.

The Closer Economic Partnership Arrangement (CEPA) – a free trade pact – between Hong Kong and the Mainland provides enhanced and first-moved advantage for Hong Kong law firms into the Mainland market.

Many of the market access measures are piloted in adjoining Guangdong Province, which has long been a test-bed for economic reform in the Mainland.

For example, under CEPA:

  • Hong Kong and Mainland law firms may be established in the form of a partnership association
  • Mainland legal firms may employ Hong Kong legal practitioners for certain kinds of legal work
  • Hong Kong legal practitioners meeting certain requirements can apply to practise as lawyers in the Mainland

HOME TO GLOBAL INSTITUTIONS

A number of reputable international and regional organisations specialising in legal or dispute resolution services have set up offices in Hong Kong. They include the Asia Pacific Regional Office of the Hague Conference on Private International Law, the Centre for Effective Dispute Resolution Asia Pacific Limited, the China Council for the Promotion of International Trade (jointly operating the Mainland-Hong Kong Joint Mediation Center with the Hong Kong Mediation Centre), the China International Economic and Trade Arbitration Commission Hong Kong Arbitration Center, the China Maritime Arbitration Commission Hong Kong Arbitration Center, the Hong Kong International Arbitration Centre as well as the Secretariat of the International Court of Arbitration of the International Chamber of Commerce Asia Office.

 



Legal Hub
Reflecting the government’s emphasis on the rule of law and legal services in Hong Kong, a prime site in the heart of the city has been set aside to accommodate offices of the Department of Justice alongside local, regional and international law-related organisations (LROs). Part of the West Wing of the former Central Government Offices (now renamed as Justice Place) and the nearby heritage-listed French Mission Building (which previously housed the Court of Final Appeal), are being converted into space for LROs. Together with offices of the Department of Justice in the Main Wing, the East Wing and part of the West Wing of the Justice Place, the whole area will form a Legal Hub. With these LROs moving into the new offices in the legal hub, the synergy and operational efficiency of the legal services sector will be enhanced, and Hong Kong’s position as a centre for dispute resolution and legal services in the Asia-Pacific Region will be further consolidated.

LROs and the major international law organisations and dispute resolution bodies in Hong Kong include:




Home

跳到主要內容
法律專業



簡介

香港的法律服務界發展蓬勃,有超過10,000名執業律師及約1,500名執業大律師,其中106名為資深大律師,另外亦有約1,600名來自32個司法管轄區的註冊外地律師。多間主要國際律師事務所都在香港設有辦事處。

香港乃全球貿易、金融和商業中心,在銀行及金融、航運、建築、知識產權、資訊科技等領域均擁有豐富的法律專業知識。

國際法律專業人士帶來了民事法及商業法領域的額外經驗,優勢互補,進一步提升本地法律專業人才隊伍在籌集資金、合約起草與談判方面的專業知識,並於香港為國際知識產權保護方面提供意見。

他們亦在處理國際交易上帶來了國際視野及經驗,有助於公平有效地處理商業糾紛。

香港大律師公會及香港律師會是香港法律界的兩個主要法律代表組織。



進入內地市場


自中國市場改革開放以來,香港與內地法律界長期保持密切聯繫,對發展商機發揮了相當作用。

香港與內地簽署的自由貿易協議《內地與香港建立更緊密經貿關係的安排》(CEPA),為香港律師事務所進入內地市場提供了更顯著、更佔先機的優勢。

多項市場開拓措施都以毗鄰的廣東省為試點;廣東省長期以來一直是內地經濟改革的試驗場。

例如,根據 CEPA:

  • 香港與內地律師事務所可以合夥聯營的形式成立
  • 內地律師事務所可聘請香港法律執業人員從事某些法律工作
  • 香港法律執業人員如符合若干規定,可申請成為內地執業律師


匯聚全球性法律相關組織

多個專門提供法律及爭議解決服務的國際及地區著名組織均在香港設有辦事處,包括海牙國際私法會議亞太區域辦事處、英國有效爭議解決中心亞太區香港辦事處、中國國際貿易促進委員會(該會與香港和解中心共同設立內地—香港聯合調解中心)、中國國際經濟貿易仲裁委員會香港仲裁中心、中國海事仲裁委員會香港仲裁中心、香港國際仲裁中心,以及國際商會國際仲裁院秘書局亞洲事務辦公室。

 


 

法律樞紐
特區政府已於香港心臟地帶預留地方,供律政司和本地、地區性及國際性法律相關組織使用,反映政府對香港法治及法律服務的重視。前中區政府合署(現稱律政中心)西座的部分地方,以及鄰近的法定古蹟前法國外方傳道會大樓(曾用作終審法院),正進行翻新,以改為法律相關組織的辦公室,並將於大約二○一九年年中起陸續啟用。連同律政司位於律政中心中座、東座和部分西座的辦公室,該處將成為一個法律樞紐。隨着這些法律相關組織遷入法律樞紐內的新辦公室,法律服務業的協同效應及運作效率將會提升,而香港作為亞太區法律和解決爭議服務中心的地位亦會得到進一步鞏固。

以下是部分將遷入香港法律樞紐的法律相關組織及其他在香港設有辦事處的主要國際法律組織和爭議解決機構:




主頁